MLES World School Curriculum

Combining local culture
and educational experiences
with western educational innovation
and pedagogical practices

In September of 2020, Grade 10 classes will begin using the new Maple Leaf World School Curriculum (MLWSC). Incorporating concepts from the AP College Board, A –levels, BC curriculum, and other world leaders, this new curriculum features modern pedagogy and a more international approach. Developed with support from the British Columbia Ministry of Education, The new curriculum has received accreditation from Cognia (formerly AdvancED) and aligned in partnership with UK NARIC (United Kingdom National Agency for Recognition and Comparison of International Qualifications) to meet the standards of universities in the United Kingdom, Australia, Canada, the United States, and other regions where Maple Leaf graduates choose to complete their studies. Streams allow for program customization, allowing students to cater their path to the university program and career of their choice.
Maple Leaf will continue its accreditation program with the BC Ministry of Education in its schools in BC and Foreign Nationals Schools in China.

Watch the webinar

Join MLES Vice Superintendent of Schools BC Program, Mrs. Jacalyn (Jackie) Kersey for an exclusive webinar and deep dive into the curriculum and learning environments inside Maple Leaf high schools.


The MLWS Program will begin in Grade 10 in September of 2020 to meet the following needs:

  • The need for a more internationally focused curriculum rather than a provincial and regional focus.
  • The need for specific academic course learning outcomes and course specific examinations, which align with parents’ and students’ expectations.
  • The need for a rigorous and efficient process for certifying and hiring high-quality teachers.
  • The need for a school inspection process that focuses on continuous improvement.
  • The opportunity to develop an international curriculum in China. 

ML’s goal to equip students for entry into top universities remains paramount. With this in mind, the MLWSC has some unique features:

  • An international focus
    • Maple Leaf’s 12 key teaching and learning strategies designed to ensure success for students whose first language is not English
    • Strengthen the language abilities of our students, including scaffolding English courses to meet student needs and provide double the English courses
    • Connections throughout the curriculum providing opportunities to reinforce skills taught in other courses: common speaking, writing, and presenting rubrics
    • Connections throughout the curriculum providing opportunities to reinforce key elements such as Communication, Personal and Global Leadership, and Creative Thinking and Problem-Solving
  • Advanced Placement (AP) courses in Math, Sciences, Information Technology, History, and Chinese Language & Culture
  • Dual credit courses that fulfill the requirements for both MLWS Credits and University credits will be offered.
  • At least one distributed learning course will become a requirement in each of Grade 11 and 12. 
    • World history/geography courses and advanced-level Math courses in grades 10 and 11
    • New courses on Global Leadership and Creative Thinking and Problem-Solving that prepare students for University success
    • Standards based evaluations in grade 10, 11, and 12

The transition to the MLWS program will be a three-year plan:

  • September 2020 – Implementation of  Grade 10 Maple Leaf World Schools’ Curriculum
  • September 2021 – Implementation of Grade 11 Maple Leaf World Schools’ Curriculum
  • September 2022 – Implementation of Grade 12 Maple Leaf World Schools’ Curriculum

Maple Leaf World Schools’ Curriculum inaugural graduation – June 2023

World School Curriculum accreditation from Cognia (previously AdvanceED) which represent:

North Central Association Commission on Accreditation and School Improvement (NCA CASI)
Northwest Accreditation Commission (NWAC)
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Council on Accreditation and School Improvement (SACS CASI)

NCA CASI, SACS CASI, and NWAC comprise three of the six  regionally recognized K-12 accrediting bodies and together have been accrediting institutions for 125 years.

Grades 11 and 12 are still using the British Columbia curriculum. Learn more about the curriculum at the links below: